Announcement of 2023 Winners of ICTA EMEA Awards

Cologne & New York ( May 30, 2023 ) -

The International Cinema Technology Association (ICTA) today announced the 2023 winners of the ICTA EMEA Awards, celebrating technological leadership, design and innovation in the cinema exhibition sector. The award winners are Cineplexx Ljubljana, Slovenia (Best New Build Cinema of the Year), Cineplex Münster, Germany (Best Cinema Refurbishment of the Year) and Forum Sittard, The Netherlands (Best Classic Cinema of the Year). The owners and operators of the winning cinemas will be presented with their awards on 18th June during ICTA’s award reception in Barcelona, just before the start of CineEurope.

ICTA is a global network of professionals in the motion picture industry. Its 240 members from around the World are the driving force behind cutting-edge technological advancements in theatrical exhibition. Each year, the association awards cinema operators and individuals that champion and celebrate innovation in cinema with the ICTA EMEA awards. This year’s winners are:

  • Cineplexx Ljubljana, Slovenia (Best New Build Cinema of the Year)

Christian Langhammer and Christof Papousek

  • Cineplex Münster, Germany (Best Cinema Refurbishment of the Year)

Ansgar Esch and Anselm Esch

  • Forum Sittard, The Netherlands (Best Classic Cinema of the Year)

Marie-Rose Vandenbergh and Antoine Vandenbergh

ICTA’s International Directors, Till Cussmann, Cathy Huis in ‘t veld Esser, Oliver Pasch and Jan Runge jointly congratulate all award winners:

„We are thrilled to honor these outstanding cinemas and individuals. Their investments into innovating the theatrical experience and their outstanding showmanship contributes hugely to driving local audiences to their cinemas. We are particularly happy that the owner-operators will be present on 18th June to accept their awards in Barcelona. Congratulations to all winners on behalf of your partners in the cinema technology community.”

The cinema companies comment on their winning:

Christof Papousek, Cinplexx Group:

„We feel honoured to receive this award for our newest cinema in Slovenia. The cinema is an important component for the entire Slovenian market, as there was no adequate cinema offer in the capital for many years. CINEPLEXX is setting new standards with this cinema and its success is reflected in the positive development of the entire cinema market since the release of Top Gun – Maverick. Our thanks go not only to the team that carried out the work and design, but also to our financing partners and the landlords from Supernova. They made it possible to realise such a project during and shortly after the COVID period. Their trust in us and in our amazing cinema industry combined with solid reserves in our company were the basis for this success!“

Ansgar Esch and Anselm Esch, Münstersche Filmtheaterbetriebe and Cineplex Münster:

“We are honored to receive this award, coming from the experts at the ICTA it really means a lot to us. It shows us that we are on the right track with our ideas about the cinematic experience like our ULTIMATE PLF brand and our partnership with CGS. It motivates us to keep on trying to enhance it even further.”

Marie-Rose Vandenbergh and Antoine Vandenbergh, Forum Sittard:

“As a fourth-generation family business, this recognition holds a special place in our hearts. We would like to express our deepest gratitude to our parents, grandparents, and great-grandparents, who laid the foundation for our success and instilled in us a profound love for cinema. Their vision and dedication have guided us throughout the years, and we are proud to carry on their legacy.

Receiving the Best Classic Cinema of the Year award is a testament to the hard work, passion, and dedication of our entire team. We extend our heartfelt appreciation to each and every member who has contributed to making Forum Sittard the cherished establishment it is today.

Additionally, we would like to express our sincere gratitude to the ICTA for this esteemed honour. Their recognition further motivates us to continue our pursuit of delivering exceptional cinematic experiences and upholding the rich heritage of the big screen.”

Frank Tees, ICTA’s President, adds:

“Congratulations to the outstanding award recipients and the teams behind these beautiful theatres. And a special thank you to ICTA’s International Board Directors for organizing this highly recognized award.”

The award winners will be honored during ICTA’s Award Reception on 18th June in Barcelona.

Professionals attending CineEurope who would like to participate in the awards reception and ICTA’s seminar can register on in the events section. Cinema operators are invited to participate free of charge and should email to register.

A media library covering each of the cinemas is accessible here.

Further inquiries:

Jan Runge

ICTA International Representative


Genter Str. 25

50672 Köln

Previous Winners of the ICTA EMEA Awards include

Best Cinema Refurbishment of the year

2019: Cineplexx Millenium City, Vienna

2020: Odeon Leicester Square, UK

2021: Filmpalast Kassel

2022: Cineworld, Belfast

Classic Screen of the Year

2015: Imperial Copenhagen, DK

2016: Odeon Leicester Square, UK

2017: Tennispalatsi, Helsinki, Finland

2018: Zoo Palast Berlin, Germany

2019: Bio Capitol, Stockholm, Sweden

2020: Pathe Tuschinksi, Amsterdam

2021: Cinemateket Oslo

2022: Le Grand Rex, Paris

New build screen of the year

2015: CinemaPink Akmerkez, TK

2016: Vue Cinema Alkmaar, NL

2017: Hollywood Megaplex Pluscity + Imax Pasching, Austria

2018: Cinestar 4DX, Mall of Split, Croatia

2019: CGV Mars, Ankara Atakule, TK

2020: Muvi Cinemas, u-Walk site, Riyadh

2021: Kinepolis Leidschendam

2022: UGC Ciné Cité Part-Dieu, Lyon

New Screen of the year

2017: Arcadia Cinema Melzo, Italy

2018: Village World @ The Mall Athens, Greece

Screen of the year

2016: Cinecitta Nürnberg, DE