Joe Earle CAS, to be Honored with the 2024 Career Achievement Award by the Cinema Audio Society

Joe Earle CAS - Cinema Audio Society
HOLLYWOOD, California ( October 17, 2023 ) -

The Cinema Audio Society today announced that it will honor award-winning sound mixer Joe Earle CAS, with its esteemed 2024 Career Achievement Award. This prestigious recognition will be presented during the 60th Annual CAS Awards on Saturday, March 2, 2024.

“The Career Achievement Award is the Society’s highest honor,” says CAS President Peter Kurland. “Joe Earle’s skill, collaboration, and profound contributions to the art of sound in the entertainment industry make him a very fitting recipient of this prestigious award.”

“I am humbled to be honored by my CAS colleagues,” said Earle. “Each year at the CAS Awards, I’m moved to be part of this incredible group, so many whose work I admire. Being honored by these collaborators and friends is simply amazing. My sincere gratitude to the CAS for this remarkable honor.”

Earle boasts an impressive tally of nearly 40 award nominations and wins, including CAS Awards, Primetime Emmys, MPSE Golden Reels, and other industry accolades. His illustrious career features an array of top-tier projects with intricate sound demands, including Ryan Murphy series American Horror Story, American Crime Story, Pose, The Politician, and Glee; acclaimed series Six Feet Under, Monk, Insecure, Dexter, and Roots; and films such as Monster’s Ball, Boycott, and City By The Sea, showcasing his prowess and versatility in the craft.

Earle was accepted to three of the most prestigious film schools in the country: Columbia, New York University, and University of Southern California (USC). He chose USC, recognizing that his future lay in Hollywood. After graduating from USC Film School, he pursued his passion, securing various production roles from PA to greensman, and many more in between, learning about post-production along the way. He became adept at cutting and working with the key tools needed and took on a role in a facility cutting countless trailers, teasers, and low-budget horror films.  While still focused on cutting sound, he transitioned from running Scott Sound to working at Todd-AO and Glen Glenn Sound, where he worked for over a decade, leading a diverse sound editorial department. While at Todd-AO, Chris Jenkins offered him an opportunity at mixing.  In 2002 Joe left Todd-AO for a spot with Technicolor Creative Services.  Eventually they offered him his own stage, and he remained there until Technicolor Sound was acquired by Formosa Group, where he continues to thrive.

Earle has left an indelible mark on the field of sound. Throughout his career, Joe has nurtured and guided numerous sound peers, many of whom have evolved into leading artists in the industry today.

He currently serves as a Governor of the Sound Peer Group at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Earle joins an illustrious group of past CAS Career Achievement Honorees including Peter J. Devlin, Anna Behlmer, Willie Burton, Tom Fleischman, Les Fresholtz, Ed Greene, Tomlinson Holman, Doc Kane, William B. Kaplan, David MacMillan, Paul Massey, Scott Millan, Mike Minkler, Walter Murch, Andy Nelson, Chris Newman, Lee Orloff, Richard Portman, John Pritchett, Don Rogers, Gary Rydstrom, Dennis Sands, Randy Thom, Jim Webb, Jeffrey S. Wexler and Charles Wilborn.

For additional information about CAS or the CAS Awards visit